QUB ePatient Conference and Virtually Connecting #qubept


I mentioned in a previous post that we’ll be trying to do some virtually connecting at the conference I’m presenting at in Belfast. The conference is “QUB ePatients Conference: The medical, ethical, and legal repercussions of blogging and micro-blogging experiences of illness and disease“.  I am really excited to report that we have two sessions setup. If anyone wants to join a Google Hangout (video conference) to interact with our guest speakers.

We have two sessions planned. If you’d like to join in virtually, just send me an email or tweet – either to me (rhogue@pobox.com, @rjhogue) or to virtually connecting (info@virtuallyconnecting.org, @vconnecting). We’d love to have a bunch of people virtually join us on our first experiment with a non-educational technology conference.

Friday, September 11 – 10:45 am UK, 5:45am EDT, 7:45pm Sydney
Guest speakers: Dr. AnneMarie Cunningham (keynote speaker,@amcunningham) & Dr. Steven Wilson (conference chair,@DrStevenWilson)
This session is scheduled for just before the conference begins. We will get a preview of the keynote as well as talk about what types of things we can expect to learn at the QUB ePatients conference.

Saturday, September 12 – 3:45 pm UK, 10:45 am in EDT, 12:45 am in Sydney
Guest speakers: Marie Ennis O’Connor (@jbbc), Cathy Ure (@cathyure) and myself (@rjhogue)
This session is with breast cancer bloggers. We will talk about the lived experience of blogging through major illness. We will reflect on the major lessons learned at the conference.

Want to know more about what Virtually Connecting is all about. Read our Prof Hacker article, the reflection piece by Michael Berman, or the reflection piece by Autumm Caines.

Like what we are doing and want to get involved – you can Join us here.

2 Comments on QUB ePatient Conference and Virtually Connecting #qubept

  1. You almost have me tempted to be up at 3:45 am here. Hoping there will be resources available on engaged patients (thanks for clarifying that, the idea of e-patients was kind of discouraging. There is not connection by internet permitted here in Alberta between patient and doctor.) “Engaged” and “Team Approach” are at least something the medical people say they’ve heard of.

    Managed to get the name of the Patient Advocate for Alberta Health and she even has an email address so I’ll send her a link to the Virtually Connecting QUB hangouts. This V.C. resource is fabulous for patients who live in rural areas. My contact with the medical system is totally restricted by policies that are deliberately designed to exclude patients from participating in their own care.

    I’ve already picked up some ideas from Marie Ennis O’Connor’s website. Since the system seems intent on erasing me it’s time to get louder and push harder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


css.php
%d bloggers like this: